Inaugural Post and Announcement

I’ve been meaning to start a blog for a while now (in fact, I registered this WordPress sometime in 2011), so since I have a big announcement, this is about as good a time as any. I’ll start with the announcement:

I’m announcing that starting in December 2014, I’ll be joining Virginia Tech as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Computer Science.

I’m naturally thrilled about this next phase of my career. There are many things about Virginia Tech that make it a great place for me. Over the past couple years, I’ve been collaborating with a team comprised primarily of researchers from Virginia Tech, led by Professor Naren Ramakrishnan, on applying machine learning to predict civil unrest using public data. This interdisciplinary project has been a major push of VT’s Discovery Analytics Center (DAC), which I will be officially joining as a faculty member. DAC has a strong component of new faculty, including a few recent hires who share research interests with me. I look forward to discussing ideas on machine learning, graph mining, and structured prediction with folks like Dhruv Batra and Aditya Prakash.

As for the inauguration of this blog, one of the reasons I’ve been wanting to start blogging for a while is that every now and then I come up with some idea or an analysis of a well-known idea that is either too minor, interesting but not useful enough, or too flat-out wrong to publish in a scientific manuscript but would be fun to share with folks. I’ll consider this an experiment to see if writing in this context is interesting for me and for readers.

One comment


Leave a Reply

